Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our Governors’ section.


Our current Governors are:


Mrs Sarah Mellors (Headteacher), Mr Gary Maddison, Mr Simon Overal, Mrs Karen Spencer, 

Mr Lee Drake, Mrs Sara Smith, Mr Simon Smith, Mrs Mary Surfleet, Mrs Sarah Henry and Mrs Lucy McLachlan. We currently have one Parent Governor vacancy.


Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

We have also provided a Register of Governor Interests and an Annual Statement of Issues for your information.

Our Governing Body


The Governing Body together with the Senior Management Team of Headteacher and Deputy Headteacher, lead the school, by setting the vision and establishing the right culture to ensure your child has the best possible opportunities to learn and develop as a young person.

Our Governing Body comprises 11 elected people plus the Head teacher, a total of 12.  There are different groups of governors elected from different parts of the community and each governor except the Headteacher is elected for a 4 year term of office.

The full Governing Body meets once a term with an agenda including governor initiated and Local Authority items.  There are several committees including Resources (Finance & Personnel), Premises, Health and Safety and Standards and Curriculum ( Monitoring & Policies).  These meet termly, or half termly depending on business requirements.  For example, the Resources Committee meets to recruit and select staff and to approve and oversee expenditure. The Premises, Health and Safety Committee meets to address all matters of safety, building work and related legislative matters. Standards and Curriculum Committee monitors the teaching, learning and assessment through the school. Other committees can be convened as requires e.g. Appeals, Complaints and Pupil Discipline. 
Our Governors are an active group and really make a difference to the school.



Governors with assigned responsibilities for 2018-2019


Mr Simon Overal - Pupil Premium

Mr Gary Maddison - Maths

Mr Simon Smith - Attendance

Mrs Mary Surfleet - Safeguarding and EYFS

Mrs Sarah Henry - Literacy / Phonics

Mrs Lucy McLachlan -  SEND

Mr Lee Drake -

Mrs Sara Smith -





Name Category

Term of



Term of





Mrs Sarah Mellors Headteacher 01/09/2016  

Resources Committee.  Standards and Curriculum Committee. Premises Health and Safety Committee.

Mr Simon Overall

Chair of Governors

Co-opted 14/3/2016 14/3/2020

Resources Committee.  Standards and Curriculum Committee. Premises Health and Safety Committee. Head Teacher Review Panel.

Mr Roger Young

(Ex Chair)


Co-opted 16/3/2015 25/6/2019


Mr Gary Maddison

Vice Chair


Co-opted 2/9/2018 1/9/2022

Resources Committee.  Standards and Curriculum Committee. Premises Health and Safety Committee. Head Teacher Review Panel. Pupil Discipline Committee.

Mrs Karen Spencer

Staff 02/11/2015 01/11/2019

Standards and Curriculum Committee.

Mrs Lucy McLachlan   03/12/2018 02/12/2022  
Mr Lee Drake Parent 12/11/2012 11/11/2019 Standards and Curriculum Committee. Complaints Committee.
Mr Simon Smith Co-Opted 25/06/2018 24/06/2022


Mrs Sara Smith Parent 09/10/2014 08/10/2018 Resources Committee. Standards and Curriculum Committee.
Mrs Mary Surfleet Co-Opted 25/06/2018 24/06/2022


Mrs Sarah Henry

Co-Opted 03/12/2018 02/12/2022


Vacancy Parent    


Cllr. Ron Shepherd

Local Authority 14/3/2016  



Mrs. Jo Merriman


Parent 11/11/2015 3/12/2018  
Mr Stuart Caroline Co-Opted 9/11/15 06/2016



Mrs Rachael Ellis-Thompson




Mr Peter Fuller






Name Pecuniary Interests

Governance Roles

In Other institutions

Material Interests

Attendance 2017-2018 Academic Year

(3 main meetings & Committee meetings)

Mrs Sarah Mellors None None None 100%
 Mr Simon Overal None None None 56%

Mr Gary Maddison

(Vice Chair)


None None None 92%

Mrs Karen Spencer

None None None 100%
  None None None  
Mr Lee Drake None None None 56%
Mr Simon Smith None None None New in 2018-2019
Mrs Sara Smith None None None 44%
Mrs Mary Surfleet None None None New in 2018-2019

Mrs Sarah Henry

None None None New in 2018-2019

Mrs Lucy McLachlan


None None None New in 2018-2019
Cllr. Ron Shepherd None None



78% (Left during year) 

Mrs Jo Merriman None None



75% (Left during year) 

Mr Roger Young


None None None 72% (Left during year)
Mrs Rachael Ellis-Thompson



None None 75% (left during year)
Mr Peter Fuller



None None (Left during year)